Friday, April 23, 2010

The TERRIBLE 2....1/2s?.



So Hannah just turned 2 1/2 years old. I thought when she turned two that this was as bad as it was going to get....NO WAY! The second she turned 2 1/2 she started the:
"NO" "MOMMMMMMY!!" "BUT BUT BUT I DON'T WANT TO!" and she has done nothing but Whine 24 hours a day, even wakes up at night crying! I don't know what is wrong with her! She isn't sick, she isn't regressing in anyway to make me think something horrible is happening to her. She is just...different. I don't know what is happening to my sweet little girl!
And to top it all off she is now a "Daddy's girl" and wants NOTHING to do with mommy. Bedtime used to be my time with her and now she only wants daddy. Not that I am stopping it or upset, its just frustrating.

But there are the occasions where she cuddles up on my lap and I read her a book and she says "I love you Mommy" and turns around and gives me a big kiss and I melt. I know my little girl loves me and she just can't control her emotions the way she would like to. She has a very big heart and it shows when she wants it to.

She has started becoming a tom boy, or a dirty girl...which ever you would like to call it. She wants to dig, and pick up rocks, and play with dirt and worms and pick grass by the hand full and throw it in the air. She LOVES being dirty, but hates having food on her hands.
And she can swing in the big girl swing outside now, she loves it! She can climb up the ladder and go down the slide all by herself. Which is the only thing she wants to do..."All by myself" is her new saying. And she says it all the time.
She loves helping....but it ends up not helping, but I encourage her to help as best as she can and tell her what a good job she is doing, even if the toilet paper pack is in the bathtub instead of the closet when she helps put away groceries.

She is growing every day and I almost don't want to leave this stage in her life because I know I will miss it when it is gone, but its very hard to tell a 2 year old that the world can't go her way.

We got a new dog, a little rescue doggy. She is a teacup Yorkie and her name is Tinker bell. We call her Tink.
She is about the size of my foot. Her old owners severely neglected her. She lived in a cage with a long haired chihuahua named Pixie (Michael's parents own her now). They were malnourished and timid. They clung to each other a lot during the first few weeks that Scott and Carol had them, then we got Tink, and she took a while to come out of her shell but I think she is okay now.
This is Hannah with Tink, in her time out spot. She knows she isn't supposed to pick her up, so she snuck while I was vacuuming and grabbed her and hid behind the door! LOl (The door is closed when she is in time out, of course!)



We aren't going to get my mother's house, even though we were approved, we are waiting for a while. We think there are other things we want to do first and thinking maybe a baby in the near future...we have to jump through some hoops first, but it is going to happen one way or another.
Thanks for reading!

Friday, April 2, 2010

Happy Easter!








Playing in the back yard

Swinging!! YAY!!

Being cute...and waiting with mommy by the car.





April rolled around way faster than I expected so I am hoping that summer rolls around just as quickly.
Hannah is doing great, growing by leaps and bounds! She is still rear facing in her car seat at 27lbs and 34 inches tall. She can say her whole alphabet, point out all the letters by sight, can count to 19 (Twenty is "fourteenineteen" LOL). She loves to sing and has started telling us stories that start out once upon a time and usually end in "Hey I have an Idea" then we go play....she never finishes her stories! She is amazing me more every day with what she says and even the doctors are amazed at how well she can speak and form full sentences.
Michael and I are in the process of buying a house. My mother is moving and selling her house and we are planning on purchasing it from her. We should find out this coming week if we are approved, which they don't see any reason we wouldn't be.
I am getting excited about the process, but I know it is going to take a really long time to close.

On another note, I was getting fed up with Hannah's pediatrician trying to tell me that my daughter HAD to get this and HAD to get that or she couldn't go to school, or she couldn't do this or that. So I looked around online and found a "vaccine friendly doctor" a little farther away. So today I went and had an appointment with him. I wish I would have found him sooner!! He was thrilled I was ERFing Hannah and pretty much said that I was in charge of her vaccine schedule, he would educate me on what the vaccines were for, and what the risks and benefits were, but it was up to me in the end. He also said that my old Dr was crazy. He immediately recommended a natural remedy to Hannah's allergies then said if THAT didn't work to try over the counter stuff. Then he addressed her "tensing up" episodes which we have been worried about since she started at 6 months old. He said that the old pediatricians recommendation that it was just a faze and that she would grow out of it was very nonchalant and that he wanted to take a closer look at it. He asked me questions she never asked me about it and plans on following up with some tests after a while. He brought up the question of "Rett Syndrome" which is quite scary but since no one in the family ever had it and Hannah is developmentally on target (advanced actually) that we should have no reason to conclude this as the cause. But it had never been asked, WHAT IF SHE DID HAVE THIS? And the other Dr over looked it?
I am just very glad that we found him :)

Well I hope everyone has a great Easter weekend!
Brittney