Monday, November 17, 2008

Hannah's First SNOW!





















This morning as I sat checking my email, Hannah was walking around the apartment, passing by me every so often to make sure I was still there, but enjoying her freedom. I had just opened up my Cafemom account to check it and I heard her exclaim, plain as day, "Hey! What is this?". I look around the corner of the office in shock that my 1 year old just said a full sentence and curious as to what made her say this! She has been saying "Wasdis" (whats this) for a while, but this was a WHAT IS THIS, LOL.
So as I look over at her, she is sitting in front of the patio door and sticking her first finger to the glass. She then would remove her finger, look at it, and stick it back, she was looking amazed and confused, so I grabbed the camera to see what she was so amazed about. As I got closer to her, I realized that it was SNOWING!!!! "Yey" I thought to myself, "here comes pink cheeks and winter colds!"
The snow was sticking to the glass of the patio door then melting as quickly as it had surfaced. She seemed really confused, and yet kept trying to poke the flakes off the glass.
We must have sat there by the patio door for about 20 minutes till the snow died down and she found something else to discover. It was a great memory, and I got some great pictures, they don't say much about the moment though....that was all ours!

On a not so happy note,
2 men tried to break into our apartment today.
It was about 9am, I think, and someone rang the downstairs buzzer to be let into the building. I pressed the intercom and replied "Hello?".
"We don't have our key, can you let us in?" Replied two booming voices
"No, I'm sorry, I can't, please call the complex" and I gave them the number.
"Well, I don't live here, but she stole my car (or card, couldn't understand him very well), I just need to get in"
"Sorry, I can't let you in"
CLICK (someone let them in the building)
STOMP STOMP STOMP (very quick stomping up the stairs)
I immediately locked the other 2 locks, we have 3, and looked through the peep hole to see who they were.
There they were, 2 black men, about 6'2" tall wearing hoodies and knit caps with built in bills, one with a white cap, the other black.
They started banging on my door, and my neighbor across the hallway.
I backed away, and called the police, as I am backing away, I saw them walk toward the other side of the building.
The police answered and I told them what was happening.
As I was talking they came back over to my side of the building and started knocking again.
I looked through the peep hole and saw NOTHING..... then it came into focus as he was backing away, it was his EYE! He was trying to look into my peep hole! Then, as I was on the phone with the police, the one in the white hat started BANGING on the door, HARD! Then, the part that still gives me chills as I talk about it.....HE TRIED TO OPEN THE DOOR! He then started leaning on the door, almost throwing himself on the door, to try to get in, and kept trying the knob! I ran over to the dining room and grabbed Hannah and stood there. As I looked over the patio I saw a car, running, with another black male in the drivers seat. I told the operator that there was a car there, and told her the make, and color, and the plate number.
They must have heard me, because they both ran out of the door and got in the car and sped off!
An officer came to my house and took a report.
I called the apartment office and told them what had happened and they kind of brushed it off, but asked us to get a report. Didn't offer to come down and talk to the police or anything.
Michael came home for the day because I was so upset and scared....but I am fine now.
I DO NOT want to live her any longer, and we are talking about getting out of our lease because we are in fear for our safety. But we aren't sure we can, and don't want to borrow money, because, that just isn't who we are. We would rather just buy a gun and protect ourselves till June.
But the officer said that as of the end of his shift, they hadn't found them. They went to the property, and no one was home. But they will try tomorrow.
We might go and stay with Micheal's parents for a couple months rent free (thank you guys!) so that we can get enough to put a deposit on an apartment or a house to rent. We just have to find out about the lease.
Well, we are all fine, other than Denna being frazzled, and my heart permanently sunk into my stomach. We had them come and change the door knob because it was so loose, ugh.....I don't want to write about this any longer.





The good news I talked about in my last post was that my little brother is going to be a daddy! YEY!! I am so excited! She goes this Thursday for an ultrasound, and then she will get a due date! I am soo happy. I am going to be getting 2 nephews and another niece or nephew, all next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Well that's it!
Thanks for reading!

No comments: