Monday, June 29, 2009

There's no place like home, there's no place like home...

If only it were that easy to tap your shoes together and be home in the wink of an eye...*sigh*.
Florida was fun for the most part. It was too hot to really do anything. It was about 102 degrees the whole time we were there.



(Everything that was going to Florida!)


Okay I am getting ahead of myself we will start with the airport and plane ride.
Before the trip I went and bought her some toys and a coloring book to keep her entertained on the plane ride there and back. Well we ended up getting to the terminal about 2 hours early and had to wait. So she played with all of her toys before the plane ride. Then about an hour into our wait an employee told me that there was a play ground that was about 2 miles away in terminal A. We were in B.
So we walked there and played for about half an hour. She had a ton of fun and fussed when we had to leave.
(Hannah coloring in her Handy Manny coloring book)



So when we finally boarded the plane they asked for all of the people with infants in arms to bored after 1st class. So we had to sit on the plane an extra amount of time. She HATED having to sit there. But soon became fascinated with the window shades. UP....DOWN....UP.....DOWN she would say.
Then we took off, she giggled so hard she couldn't catch her breath! I thought for sure she would freak out but she LOVED it! We had a window seat so she got to see Ohio getting further and further away!
(Ohio....its under the clouds!)
(Mommy and Hannah on the plane)

So our flight was only 2 hours, but even 2 minutes with a fussy toddler is too much sometimes. Thankfully there were some really great people on the flight with us. We sat next to a really nice lady, who happened to be a grandmother and just loved playing with Hannah.
Hannah finally calmed down about 10 minutes before we landed. But she wasn't crying just really upset she couldn't get down.
So we finally landed in Orlando about 10:30 am. Liz's brother came to pick us up and drove us to her mom's house where we unloaded and waited for her to get off work. Her mom's house is wonderful and beautiful but we ended up not being able to stay there with her because the dogs really bothered both Hannah's and my allergies. So we stayed with Elizabeth the whole week! I am glad we did, I got to spend a lot of extra time with her and the kids that way.
I was so tired there because the heat just saps your energy. When we did go some where like the park, we couldn't stay long because of the heat.
(at the park, the second day in Florida)

We spent most of our days inside, just Hannah and I. Elizabeth had to work and there wasn't much to do in Eustis, LOL, its like the Darrtown of Florida! So anyway, Friday we went to go to the mall and ended up getting a boxer puppy instead! She was so cute! Hannah loves dogs so she was really happy about it. So then Saturday we went to Daytona and spent the WHOLE day at the beach. It was a blast! I took Hannah out into the ocean and let the waves hit her, she loves the water. She was so tired though (I now know why). She laid her head down on my shoulder and fell asleep! IN THE OCEAN! So I took her up and put her on the beach chair under the umbrella and she took her nap on the beach.






Saturday she started to get a fever. It was 101.8 I think. I thought maybe she was just in the sun too long and gave her Tylenol. Her temperature went back down and she was playing fine, not acting fussy, or breathing funny or anything.
So Sunday I put her to bed about 8:45pm and she was fine. No temp, breathing fine, acting normal. So about 10:45pm she wakes up, okay normal, we are in a strange place. So I go in a get her from the play pen and she is BURNING UP! I have Liz get me the thermometer and she has a temp of 105.1. I gave her some Tylenol and get everything together. Liz gives me directions to the hospital and I get over there in about 20 minutes and end up getting there at about 11:30pm. I waited in the waiting room for about 10 minutes with Hannah crying for "water..Drink" but I couldn't give her anything. So we get called back and when they take her temp its down to 103.5. (Still high, but not 105) We get put into a "room" (3 walls of curtains) and the nurse comes in with a LONG cotton swab and sticks it up her nose for a influenza test because we don't get flu shots. Then a throat swab for strep test. They insisted on doing a straight catheter for a urine sample but I refused and they stuck a sticky bag to her and waited. Of course the bag leaked when she did finally pee, so no urine was collected. They did a chest xray and found that Hannah has bronchitis. They said that if she does have a UTI (urinary tract infection) then the antibiotics for the bronchitis would get rid of it (no urine needed). So we left the ER about 2am. At this very moment I wanted so bad to go home, so that Michael could be here. He is my rock and I was so unsteady without him. I was afraid that I was going to do something wrong, or make the wrong decision regarding our daughters health. But he trusted me, and agreed with me. If only there were such a thing as ruby slippers that could take you home in a blink of an eye....if only.

So Monday we packed up and I stayed at the house in the A/C with Hannah and kept her hydrated and happy. She was so lethargic and clingy. So I got her to bed really early and sat up with Liz and talked for a long time. Then we went to bed.
I had to get up at 3:45am for the taxi. Oh my gosh, I thought we were going to die that day. The taxi driver was an old man that obviously wasn't very awake. It started to POUR, I mean like monsoon rain, and lightening and thunder! I couldn't see 2 feet in front of the van and the dude was going 60 mph!!! He ended up hitting a shopping cart that was in the middle of the high way, and almost hit a garbage can. I was so scared! I kept a blanket handy in case I had to cover Hannah in an accident. (Sounds so silly doesn't it....?) Well we made it to the airport with about 30 minutes to spare by the time I made it to the gate. So I got Hannah a blue berry muffin for breakfast and we waited. She was so sick, she slept the whole way back. I really didn't want to fly with her being sick but its not contagious and I really wanted to get her home.

The flight seemed shorter on the way home. I was so excited to see Michael. We landed about 10 minutes early and the breezeway driver wasn't there so we had to wait on the plane for it to come. Hannah had woken up when we landed (again giggling but very tired). She kept saying "Daddy, Out" the whole time we were waiting. When she finally saw daddy she was so happy!! So was I.
I was sad to leave Florida because I loved seeing Liz and her family, but I was so happy to be home.

Now a week later, all is well. She is almost finished with her antibiotics and is feeling great.
It was a great vacation with a bad ending. I am still glad we went, and glad to have a great friend there to help!

Saturday, June 13, 2009

First and second day with the DC (mature women only)

Okay so yesterday I bought my DC and mother nature must have known that I bought it because she conveniently dropped in for a visit.
So....the verdict is....
I LOVE IT!
I know that something that has to do with that time of the month isn't something you should love anything about, but this just makes it a little easier.
For all of those women or girls out there that hate using either pads or tampons, seriously, try the DC. If you have no clue what I am talking about here is the website.
www.divacup.com
It is great, I am telling you honestly, I wish I would have found this 12 years ago.
They have 2 different sizes, one : if you are under 30 and have never had children
two: if you are over 30 or have had a child vaginally or by c-section. It comes with a little carrying bag that is really cute, and NO ONE would ever guess what you are carrying in it. I don't ever have to make sure my diaper bag is stocked with tampons again! I am so happy!!

So today is the second day with it, and I have had no issues, no spotting through, its easy to take out and put in, its comfortable, I only remember I am on my P ever 12 hours when I have to change it. Its so much LESS messy than tampons or pads. I don't have to worry about where to throw it out, or to make sure I wad it up enough....ugh. NEVER AGAIN !!! HA HA HA *evil victory laugh!*

Alright, so please please try this, I totally recommend it to anyone who hates going into that aisle at the store every month, or who is tired of trying to figure out which absorbency you need, or tired of worrying if you will leak, or having to wear a diaper all day! You can buy them at Whole foods, or wild oats, lots of places actually. Its about $35, but well worth it. Think of all the money you waste going into landfills and smelling up your garbage...ewwwww.....!

So GO BUY ONE!!!!!
Here is the link again!!
www.divacup.com
If anything just look at the testimonials page.
Thanks for reading!!



Jeeze I sound like a walking ad for diva cup, they should pay me!

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

FLORIDA

So as I have posted before, Hannah and I are leaving for Florida in 6 days....I am so nervous about flying with her but excited for the adventure!
I am worried that something will happen while we are there that is out of my control and I won't know what to do...I feel like I am being pulled in two different directions.
But I am anxious to get there and spend some quality time with my best friend and her family! I hope that Hannah can adjust (as well as a toddler could) and isn't too grouchy when we get there.
So the here is a little info on my BFF:

Her name is Liz and she is like 2 months older than I am. We met when we were 7 years old and have been thick as thieves ever since! We used to live just down the street from each other and I would spend almost every weekend over at her house. We had some crazy adventures there. I remember one time we pretended like we were wolves and had to build a den for our puppies (stuffed dogs). We used to spend a lot of time at the stables grooming and riding her horse, Royal. She had a MILLION animals so I loved being over there. We used to play dolls and actually fought over one called Ashley for about 3 months! LOL I miss being a little girl and having that sort of imagination! I am hoping Hannah does.
So at age 12 she moved to Florida with her parents and I didn't get to see her again till I was 20 I think. I went down and surprised her for her baby shower. She was VERY surprised. I was only able to stay for 2 days though.
She then came up for my baby shower in 2007 (she didn't know at the time but she was about 2 weeks pregnant with her daughter.). So its my turn to go see her and finally meet her little girl! I am SO excited!
At my baby shower (Liz is on the right)
I don't think Hannah has any clue that we are taking a trip even though I have told her a million times we are going to fly in an airplane. She is only 19 months old....what do you expect! LOL
So I am curious as to how she will take the airport and flight and another airport and then strangers picking us up! I am hoping she warms up to them quickly but I am not expecting anything from her.
So I have about 10 more minutes to myself before one of the children wake up....so I am going to eat a snack and read my book.
Stay tuned for Florida pictures (I come back on the 23rd)

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

13 days....and the countdown begins!

In 13 days Hannah and I will be traveling to Florida to spend a week with my best friend! I am REALLY REALLY excited! I am worried about the flight, of course. I will have a wiggly toddler on my lap for 2 hours. I think I have figured out how to resolve some of it though.


I am going to buy about $5 worth of dollar store (toddler friendly) toys and coloring books and crayons, and not let her see them till the flight. Then I am allowed to bring dry snacks for her, and I can fill up her sippy cup after we get through security. I am also going to bring some books for her. I think that will suffice. But just my luck, I will do all this and she will sleep the whole time. That's fine though, LOL.





Friday is our play date, thankfully, I need some adults to talk to! Movers and shakers is fine, but we aren't really talking a lot, its more of a singing, moving thing. Its hard with the twins because I really want to keep them happy, but at the same time, this is Hannah's time. So I have to split my time of course. I don't' have a problem doing it, its just a little stress full. Sometimes Paige has to take over Hannah for me... :(





The boys are getting bigger and bigger every day. They are starting to want to roll over when they are on their backs and L. has actually accomplished this many times!!
They are about 4 months old (almost 5) now and can hold their heads up and smile and laugh!
A friend of mine is letting me borrow a bumbo so that I can sit them up for entertainment, its good for their strength too. They were premature, so developmentally they are only 3 months old. Sitting up isn't even on their minds yet I don't think, LOL...they just want to eat, sleep, poop, and be entertained. Hannah LOVES them! She can say P's name, but not L's. She calls him "Baby". She will hold their bottles for them, burp them (pats them on the back), sing to them, rock their bouncy chairs, bring me burp cloths, and shows them her toys if I ask her to. She is such a big help!!
After a weekend without baby sitting them, I find myself missing them, and when I see them on Monday, WOW, they seem like they grow every time!



So my lists are done for the trip. We have a small shopping trip to make before we go, I need some stuff for Hannah and some stuff for me. We saw this thing that is made by OFF! that we are getting. I really like the idea of it. Its a fan that has a 10 foot radius of bug protection and its safe to use around kids, as long as they don't lick it of course! So we got a really good coupon for BOGO free and we are going to get that. Then I have to get the toys I talked about, Hannah needs a new sun hat because hers is too small now, I am getting a diva cup (bottom paragraph) and we need some snacks for the trip! So after we do that, I will be done. I plan on starting to pack next week. Slowly, I don't want to forget anything....hence the lists!!!






Okay so now for the Diva Cup. This is women talk...if you don't want to read it don't scroll down... just walk away now! I am warning you!








SCROLL DOWN

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-Keep going.... (turn back now...I am warning you!)

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-




Okay so the Diva cup:


I am getting one the Friday after next before AF decides to make her way to my house.
I have always hated tampons and pads so when I heard about this product I was elated!! Its a silicone cup that, well, it does what a tampon does, but less messy and less gross. You can leave it in for 12 hours at a time, reducing TSS, eliminating the need to carry a hoard of feminine products in your diaper bag for your toddler to pull out and start playing with when your not looking....yeah... *blushing* . It also reduces the number of tampons/pads that are being thrown into landfills with our bodily fluids on them....okay lets all cringe together....EWW ~~~**
So I am really excited about getting it, and really excited about trying it! I am getting it right before my trip. Of course I am going to start on my trip, when else would mother nature decide to drop that on me? So if I can't get the hang of the DC then I guess its back to the old cotton cork. Wish me luck you weird people who are actually reading this!!!